After Nine Months by John D Robinson

We met him at the gates,
she was tearful and smiling
and rushed forward to
embrace him: I stood my
ground and waited: after
they’d let go he walked
over and shook my hand
and said hello:
we climbed into the
waiting cab: she said to me,
‘Here, you take this money
and buy as much wine as you
can and you take your time
getting back with it’
I nodded my head, grinning:
‘In fact’ she said ‘Take this
as well and treat yourself to
a sandwich and a couple of
beers in a bar before you go
to the off-licence and take
your time about it’
‘Yeah’ he said smiling,
looking across at me ,
‘take your time, you know
what I’m talking about?’
I did know what he was
talking about and I took my
time, I took it real slow.

john-d-robinson-2

John D Robinson is a published poet: ‘When You Hear The Bell, There’s Nowhere To Hide’ (Holy&intoxicated Publications 2016) ‘Cowboy Hats & Railways’ (Scars Publications 2016) his work appears widely in the small press and online literary journals.

Leave a Reply

