Geek by Wayne F. Burke

I moved up in the right-hand lane
to pass a big truck
on my left
but the truck sped-up
and I floored the Cadillac to get
in front
before the two lanes became one–
I moved to the left and
stopped at the light
and the truck squealed to a halt
beside me;
the driver barked down through
the open sun roof:
“YOU FAT BASTARD!”
“Fuck you!” I said.
“Say that to my face!”
I looked up:
“get fucked!”
He swore a blue streak,
the words raining down on me,
the truck engine growling;
I reached into my pocket:
“I’ll call the cops!”
An empty threat as
I did not own a cell phone.
I saw him get out, jump down,
a big muscled-up geek,
nickname of “Moose.”
The light blinked green
and I made the turn,
glad we had not come to blows
though
that “fat bastard”
hurt.

Wayne Burke

Wayne F. Burke’s poetry has appeared in a variety of publications (including Your One Phone Call). His three published poetry collections, all from BareBack Press, are WORDS THAT BURN, DICKHEAD, and KNUCKLE SANDWICHES. A fourth collection, A LARK UP THE NOSE OF TIME, is due out in 2017. His chapbook PADDY WAGON is published by Epic Rites Press. He lives in the central Vermont area (USA).

One thought on “Geek by Wayne F. Burke

Leave a Reply

