When the Bikers Rode into Town by Ryan Quinn Flanagan

I was out shopping with my father
along Dunlop Street in Downtown
Barrie.

Just a child, but I remember the deafening noise.
The way the street seemed to shake under your feet
like a false earthquake.
The shine off all that chrome and the many giant men
in leather.

And the women in back.
I had never seen that much skin before
outside of my own nakedness.

And others in fishnet
playing tricks on the mind.

My father rushing me off
into the bargain shop
where you could get 3 pairs
of sunglasses
for $5.

Ryan Quinn Flanagan Black & White

Ryan Quinn Flanagan is a happily unmarried proud father of none. His work can be found both in print and online. He has an affinity for dragonflies, discount tequila, and all things sarcastic.

Leave a Reply

