The Throbs Of Life by Anoucheka Gangabissoon

The throbs of life keep pricking me
From the sarcastic glances of those who despise me
To the hate laden looks of those who envy me
The throbs of life keep pricking my inner core
Making me want to throw up
Even swallow my pride
And doubt of the beauty of humility!

The throbs of life keep pricking me
From my skin to the depth of my soul
They make me feel like wanting to break myself free
To fly, without wings
To dance, without feet
To laugh, for no reason
To be, carefree and breezy
To fear not the thorns of life
And to learn to control myself
So as not to be bothered by the thorns of life!

Why, life has been made to be such
Never shall it give us roses
Rather, it shall keep pricking us
To make us feel that we live in a trodden world
That fallen we are
And that we are to regret such a fact!

With the throbs of life have I learnt to live with
They are part of me
In them I do submerge my soul
Yes, without them
I would never have glanced up at the skies
And wonder about their mystery!

SONY DSC

Greetings from Mauritius. I am Anoucheka Gangabissoon, a Primary School Educator and a poet/author. My works have appeared both in print and in online blogs/anthologies.

 

Leave a Reply

