Almost the End by James Babbs

it’s almost the end and
I look through the window
and something electric
dances across my skin
before it fades away
leaving this tingling feeling
lingering for such a long time
and I can no longer distinguish
between the things I’ve dreamed and
those things I’ve seen when I’m awake
but it’s almost the end
and I hear love’s dying echo
in the dead of the night
coming from the far side of the mountain
the same sound fear makes
when it comes rushing in
right before my heart breaks
and slowly I turn
and look the other way
remembering where I’ve been
laughing again
it’s almost the end

james-babbs-photo-2

James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.

Leave a Reply

