Over by James Babbs

I remember the way I drove
through the fog for over an hour
before finally reaching her
she was waiting for me
but when I pulled her close
and started kissing her
I knew something was wrong
when she told me
we needed to talk
I knew it was over
she leaned over and turned down
the sound on the TV
but I kept looking at the picture
only glancing in her direction
every now and then
later
when I got back into my car
the fog had lifted
but when I pulled out of the driveway
it suddenly started to rain

james-babbs-photo-2

James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.

Leave a Reply

