Oral Herpes by Alfonso Colasuonno

Now I’m not a smoker anymore
Except for when I’m drunk
And I’m drunk quite often
But still – I don’t smoke regularly
Not because of health concerns
I figure my days are numbered
(Don’t all poets commit suicide anyway?)

I see a pack of Marlboros
Reds
The ones I smoked
Just lying there on the sidewalk

Now I’m not a smoker anymore
Except for when I’m drunk
Not because of the scent
Lingering on your person
Like a beggar in the South Side
By the Greyhound stop
Trying to scam dollar rides on the Metro
From suckers with smiling faces
It’s just the price
Is rather excessive

Those Marlboros on the ground
Just four of them sticking out of an open pack
Looking like pin-sized dicks
Wanting me to snap them up
(Don’t all poets commit suicide anyway?)

But then I thought to myself
What if the woman who left them here had oral herpes
And as a way of accentuating her desire for revenge
Placed her lips
Her diseased lips
Lips that had sucked a thousand cocks
In glory holes
In penny arcades
In X-rated theaters for five dollars a spurt
Placed those same provocative lips on each of these cigarettes
That lie so casually
Waiting to be snatched and burned by cheap bastards
Cheap bastards like the men she always attracted
To smoke and catch her gift

I paused
I thought about this free pack of smokes
Then I moved past the pack
Not because I don’t want to smoke
(Don’t all poets commit suicide anyway?)
But because I would have less of a chance
If I was unable to go down on her too.

alfonso-colasuonno

Alfonso Colasuonno is a writer, actor, filmmaker and a not-totally-full-of-shit entrepreneur. He lives in Baltimore with his fiancée, a wild animal, and the ghosts of John Waters films past. Alfonso serves as the Poetry Editor for Beautiful / Losers Magazine (http://beautifullosersmagazine.wordpress.com).

 

 

Leave a Reply

