The Four A.M. Shift by Jonathan Hayes

I wake in the dead morning
To cat poop on the floor

There’s a possum in the street

Coffee under a black sky

Lampposts glowing on the bridge
I walk to work each morning

Low tide estuary below
In the river by the sea

Coyote on sandbar

A before dawn forecast
The orange stray cat wallows

Now I’m walking the levee
Amongst meth head zombies

When a raccoon reminds me
To keep my hand on my knife.

jonathan-hayes

Jonathan Hayes lives in Santa Cruz, California. He is currently responsible for the “Anthology of American Haiku” with his co-editor Richard Lopez, and the man behind the curtain, Richard Hansen.

 

Leave a Reply

