Sitting In The Dark by Matthew Borczon

I
have gotten
used to
the ghosts
in my
years since
the war

the first
ones were
small children
burned black
like toast
who slipped
quietly into
my nightmares

then it
was the
detainees
angry and
trying to
hurt me
and they
succeed nightly

the soldiers
came last
covered in
blood dust
and ash
asking questions
I can’t answer
about what
I did
and didn’t
do for
them back
in the
hospital

in the
end they
always
ask me
the way
home and
I always
say
I wish
I knew.

matthew-borczon

Matthew Borczon is a nurse and navy sailor who served in Camp Bastion in Afghanistan in 2010-11. He writes about war and life with PTSD. He has been widely published in the small press including pieces in Dead Snakes, In Between Hangovers, Rasputin, Anti Heroin Chic, The Yellow Chair Review, Revolution John, Dissident Voice as well as many others. His Book A Clock of Human Bones won the Yellow Chair Reviews Chap Book Contest in 2015.

Leave a Reply

