We’d Both Been Drinking Heavily by John Hartley

In the club I admired the bargirl’s pirouettes as she served
I asked did you used to do that
You said you did it all the time
I waited while two beautiful boys got their drinks
Hoping they wouldn’t notice me staring at their cruel mouths
Do you still feel like this
You made an impatient gesture by your head
I lied of course I do
At throwing out time we stumbled back to your place
Making some excuse to your Mother
As if we’d both been drinking heavily

john-hartley-2

every few years John Hartley makes another attempt to kickstart his writing career, this is the latest

Leave a Reply

