Celine and Julie go Boating by John Hartley

I surprised you both skinny dipping
Turning my back while you got dressed
And making conversation
To cover the sound of pissing on the sand
I fancied your friend so I stuck around
Sharing my fags and asking
Weren’t you bothered you’d be seen from the old folks’ bungalows
Your friend beautiful but stick-thin
Said she had so little to show
They would probably think she was a boy
I said I’d seen enough to know that wasn’t true
Then out of the blue and guessing you were third wheel
You said in your opinion
Sex was just like drinking acid
Your friend and I exchanged a look
But we both knew none of this could end well

john-hartley-2

every few years John Hartley makes another attempt to kickstart his writing career, this is the latest

Leave a Reply

