A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Nero

Why do you write?

I write because the only person who really listens to me is me. There are so many thoughts a human has in a day, and if I don’t write, they won’t put themselves in order and make sense so that I can take my next breath. If anyone reads my words and can get something from them, blessed be.

What books do you read?

*Looks at whittled-down collection of books, which is a long story within itself* I only pretend to read Kafka. Haruki Murakami is trendy with staying power. There’s an Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs here, The Isis Papers, Milady’s Standard, The Witch’s Guide to Life, A Clockwork Orange, religious texts, various zines…

What inspires you?

Being in bad situations, fighting for freedom, my skin since skin is the first thing one looks at when encountering another, the possibility that I might overcome bad habits one day, or die from bad habits. But only the cool ones.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

My mother informed me I was a writer when I was younger. I did it for her then realized I really was a writer. Define writer.

How do you deal with rejection?

It is a painful thing to be rejected. There have been times when my sanity took a back seat to my emotions for sure. I think, though, that previous rejections have been so stabbingly hurtful that my outer layer is braced for and wanting rejection so that when I am accepted it feels real.

Who are some writers you admire?

Audre Lorde. Sean Enfield. Jolee Davis.

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

Acrylic on canvas, baby.

What would be some advice you would give to your younger self?

Listen.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Listen.

What is your writing process?

Spill and mop. I write anything that comes out, then go back and clean it up.

Nero

Nero lives in Dallas, Texas, and dreams of living somewhere other than Dallas, Texas. Her writing and artwork has luckily found its way into Let it Bleed, Not Dead Yet: An Anthology of Survivor Poetry and a few zines along the way. When courage presents itself as a beer, she makes her way on stage to speak poetry at Mad Swirl and informal social gatherings. Nero loves sleep; it is so wonderful to wake up and know that dreams hold information that can be used during conscious hours. There used to be a website and FB page and all of that stuff, but enterprising has taken a back seat to more naps.

 

Leave a Reply

