A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Adam Tedesco

Why do you write?

There used to be a woman who worked in my office who, when passed a get well card to sign for a coworker, wrote her name across every inch of the card. By the time someone came to ask if she had the card, she had covered every inch of it in ink. I write for the same reason she does.

What books do you read?

Mostly poetry

Bernadette Mayer’s books
Sampson Starkweather’s books
Amiri Baraka’s books
Dara Weir’s books
Dianne Di Prima’s books
Fred Moten’s books
Dan Magers’ books
Hoa Nguyen’s books
Peter Gizzi’s books
Kelly Schirmann’s books
Santiago Vizcaino’s books
John Beer’s books
CAConrad’s books
Kim Hyesoon’s books
Dorothea Lasky’s books
Claudia Rankine’s books
Cesar Vallejo’s books
Sharon Mesmer’s books
Sommer Browning’s books
Heather Christle’s books
Franck Andre Jamme’s books
Bei Dao’s books
Amy Lawless’s books
Aase Berg’s books
Jack Spicer’s Books

I also read a lot of books about dream yoga.

What inspires you?

Living in end stage capitalism. Children laughing. Watching people mutate. Entheogens. Love. Vows of poverty. Having to bury people before they die. Lucid dreaming.Glossolalia. Daymares. Mountains. Being fucked. Mountains being fucked.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

I have never wanted to be a writer. I write. This is not a tortured artist copout. I have an aversion to the idea of collecting identities which are performances, in that writing is an act and beings are not acts. It’s semantics, I know. When I think about calling myself a writer, I start to picture myself wearing  some cafepress tshirt with a picture of Kafka on it or something. The idea of indentifying as a poet is somewhat less frightening. In all honesty, I don’t even want to be a human. Just a thought. I’d be fine with that. And I am fine with that, knowing none of this is real.

How do you deal with rejection?

Depends on the day. Somedays I laugh. Somedays I cry. I’m still learning how to do anything in between. Since I started a journal it’s become a lot easier to take. I now know that when an editor says “this didn’t work for what we’re doing right now” they really mean that, most of the time. This helps.

Who are some writers you admire?

See answer to “What books do you read”.
Also:

I very much admire the writers we work with at REALITY BEACH.
I admire all writers that inspire people to tear down government.
I admire all writers that work to tear down systems of power and oppression.
I admire all writers that inspire people to DROP OUT.

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

No. I paint. I make collages. I make music. I stage and take photographs.

What would be some advice you would give to your younger self?

Love more. Love your body. Yes, you’re fucked up, but so is everyone, even trees. It’s ok to feel.  Do less hard drugs. Sleep more.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Abandon narrative.
Abandon knowing.
Abandon the idea of anything working out, ever. Then it might.

What is your writing process?

Driving my kids to school. Having a good idea. Trying to write it down while driving. My kids screaming. Someone yelling “Watch the road, Asshole!” Forgetting the idea.\

ADAM TEDESCO by Mary Charlene

Adam Tedesco is a founding editor of REALITY BEACH. He is a contributing editor for the online literary journals Drunk In A Midnight Choir and Moloko House. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Hobart, Funhouse, Prelude, Nailed, and elsewhere. His new chapbook, The Heart Sutra, will be released in September. He lives in Albany, New York, where he prays to rabbits in the dark.

Leave a Reply

