A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Paul Tristram

Why do you write?

It’s the best prison-free way of taking down enemies.
The better I get the more people I prove wrong
and call me old-fashioned but that just makes me fucking drip!

What books do you read?

Charles Baudelaire, Thomas Hardy, Raymond Carver, Louis Ferdinand Celine, The Fante’s, Ernest Hemmingway, William Blake, Dylan Thomas, Garry Johnson (The Oi! poet), Anne Sexton, Robert Louis Stevenson, Charles Dickens, Charles Bukowski & James Franco.

What inspires you?

Drunk, pretty women… I’m pretty shallow really.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

17 going on 18 when I first got my heartbroken.
I went on a violent rampage, hospitalizing every adult male in her family
and whilst in a Swansea prison cell I wrote my first poem… Eureka moment.

How do you deal with rejection?

Well, I’ve kneecapped 3 editors and almost murdered another cunt.
I try to be all Zen about it and realise that they’re only jealous
because I’ve got a bigger cock than them… especially the women.

Who are some writers you admire?

Fuck Off!

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

No.

What would be some advice you would give to your younger self?

Ignore all flattery and putdowns.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Nuh! They don’t need my advice.

What is your writing process?

I don’t write every day… I write all of the time!

black derby

Paul Tristram is a Welsh writer who has poems, short stories, sketches and photography published in many publications around the world, he yearns to tattoo porcelain bridesmaids instead of digging empty graves for innocence at midnight; this too may pass, yet. Buy his books ‘Scribblings Of A Madman’ (Lit Fest Press) http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1943170096 ‘Poetry From The Nearest Barstool’ at http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1326241036 And a split poetry book ‘The Raven And The Vagabond Heart’ with Bethany W Pope at http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1326415204 You can also read his poems and stories here! http://paultristram.blogspot.co.uk/

 

One thought on “A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Paul Tristram

Leave a Reply

