A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Meg Collins

Why do you write?

I write about topics that most would prefer not to discuss. It makes people uncomfortable and I enjoy that aspect. I enjoy the dialogue that comes from challenging a person’s beliefs and having them question themselves, and examine why they feel the way they do. They may not walk away changed but they are thinking. I would say I continue to write because of the response I have had.

What books do you read?

Everything, I’m a history junkie so I am drawn to this more times than not but I am also a mother so sometimes I have to settle for articles rather than books.

What inspires you?

My greatest inspiration comes from those that have reached out to me and told me their own life stories after reading mine. Those who have found their own voice and have had the courage to speak up after not being able to do so for sometimes many years. Their courage inspires me.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

I never saw myself as anything but a writer. I worked every job to pay the bills over the years but when I wasn’t working or chasing children, I was writing, or reading or falling in love with a series of words that seemed to converge in some way that made me look differently at myself or a subject. I wanted to write about real life, the joys and sorrows and I knew this at a very early age. I have always carried a journal with me, probably since I was eight or nine years old. Writing chose me more so than I chose to be a writer.

How do you deal with rejection?

Rejection is a numbers game. The odds have to be in your favor eventually. Not everyone will dig you, but eventually, someone will. It’s good for your character. Once you get over the initial shock of how judgmental the world can be, which many of us had prior to writing, you really don’t give a shit anymore and find humor where you can.

Who are some of the writers you admire?

I admire those that can bridge you from your current location to their world. Not every writer is capable of this. Fiction or not, you should feel what you read or it isn’t worth reading in my opinion.

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

Yes, and I am incredibly envious of those who can cross mediums. I played piano for many years and dabbled in photography and sketching in my twenties but nothing serious. Unless breakdancing counts? Nah, I suck at that too.

What advice do you have for your younger self?

Laugh at yourself often, forgive yourself, write more and forget all the rules you think you must live by.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yeah, never take advice from other writers.

What is your writing process?

Well it begins with candles and champagne and ……. nah, I’m a pretty simple girl. I primarily write at night and it normally includes coffee or red wine and silence. I travel a great deal so a lot of my work is done from wherever I am at the time. It works for me.

Meg Collins

Meg Collins is the author of the memoir My Life in Boxes and her essays have been published by Storyofamerica.com in 2014 and 2015. She has been a featured blogger on adoption and sexual assault sites around the world and has worked as an International food and wine writer. She is best known for her no holds barred approach and taste for the unknown.

 

Leave a Reply

