How Does This One Begin by James Babbs

the same way so many of them do
with me sitting here alone
getting drunk again
and staring at all the trees
right now
they have bare limbs
but it won’t be long
before they’re covered with new leaves
I lean back in my chair
and take another drink
I keep thinking about
the passing of time
how did I get this old
it all seemed to happen so fast
it’s like entire years have disappeared
without leaving any trace
and I hear the sound of cars
driving past my house
I know
it’s going to be dark soon
and tonight I want to finish
drinking all the beers I have
left in the fridge
I think there are 14 bottles
huddled together on the top shelf
I like to take each one
and set them in the freezer
for 15 minutes or so
before I drink them
because
that way they get nice and chilled
but sometimes I forget
and leave them in there too long
so by the time I pull them out
they’re frozen and
I have to keep touching them with my hands
until they start to melt

James Babbs Photo

James Babbs continues to live and write from the same small Illinois town where he grew up. He has published hundreds of poems over the past thirty years and, recently, a few short stories. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013).

Leave a Reply

