Those Lovely Women by James Babbs

sometimes
I think about them
late at night
when I’m the only one around
those women from long ago
in their 20s and 30s
when I was just a teenager
many of them young divorcees
with small children
just trying to make ends meet
and oftentimes
they were the ones
I imagined in my room
when I laid on my bed
alone in the dark
and I thought about
all the things I wanted them to do
not the supermodels
or the centerfolds
I saw in magazines
not the pretty actresses
I watched on TV
no
it was those single mothers
living in apartments and houses
not very far from me
driving around in their used cars
and sometimes I waved at them
when they passed me on the street
but now that I’m older
now that I’ve been around
and learned a few things
I wonder
what happened to all of them
I don’t see them anymore
those beautiful women
with their sweet smiles
and disheveled hair
standing at the front door
yelling for the kids to come back home
the sun going down
another day of summer gone
ah
those lovely women
I wish I knew
where they were now

James Babbs Photo

James Babbs continues to live and write from the same small Illinois town where he grew up. He has published hundreds of poems over the past thirty years and, recently, a few short stories. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013).

Leave a Reply

