Wired Manifesto by Stephen Jarrell Williams

You are not the first
To read
This poem

Even as I wrote each word
They were reading along
Categorizing a branding file

Perhaps I shouldn’t have
Composed it on my computer
Burnt the light into the darkness

Maybe I should have hand-written it
But eventually it would have birthed
On a glow screen somewhere

This is a protest poem
Terming me as an unwanted
Non-Member of their society

They will call me the “T” word
Eligible for arrest and imprisonment
A jail cell until they get around to me

I just don’t agree with all the spying
Keeping tabs for use when they want
To perforate and vanish me from you

They don’t like me
Drawing you in
Pondering the deception

They are evil
Sneaky little weasels
With a butt for a brain

You can laugh
But not very loud
They might hear you

They have bugs, cameras, numbing devices
Politicians, lawyers, secret police
Awaiting prisons as big as cities

They’re collecting their data
Already hauling the outspoken off
Arranging accidents for more than we know

Yes, they’re snuffing people out
Platoons of professional snuffers
With wire cutters and needles

Oh, they’re mad at me now
Lining my photo up on a wall
Delving out the task with a time-table

Or maybe I’ve said too much
To too many people
So it would be too obvious if I bit the cement

We’ll just have to see
I know I have some bad baggage
But it’s my bad baggage

They could smear me like others
But don’t let that black out the message
Not one of us is pure

Enough now
I don’t want to sound like a madman
Rambling on and on and over the cliff

Pray for me as I pray for you
Even if you don’t believe in God
We really need one

For these guys are like lizards
Underneath their suits and dresses
With their masks made from our ignorance.

Stephen Jarrell Williams

Stephen Jarrell Williams loves to write in the middle of the night with a grin and grimace and flame in his heart. He is the editor of Dead Snakes at deadsnakes.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Wired Manifesto by Stephen Jarrell Williams

  1. This poem is so well-written as to feel transparent. It says the unspeakable in such a clear way as to render it obvious. Wonderful work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

