A Culture of Kites by John Brantingham

Saturday morning means
a culture of parks in Shanghai
where men, my age and older,
fly Hello Kitty or Pokemon kites
and get the same daydream face
I wore when I was eight
and flying my own,
and who knows where these guys were
when we were all children to this world?
They do a double take
when they see me
as if maybe the Korean War
is standing next to me with its arms folded
and maybe the Cultural Revolution too,
with a precise hat and sneer,
along with a gang of other bullies
I’ve never even heard of.
Somehow these men
see past their childhood.
Ignoring my angry companions,
they pick me out of that crowd
and wave.

John Brantingham

John Brantingham is the writer-in-residence at the dA Center for the Arts and a professor of English at Mt. San Antonio College. His most recent poetry collection is Dual Impressions: Poetic Conversations about Art.

One thought on “A Culture of Kites by John Brantingham

Leave a Reply

