Be Careful What You Teach Your Children by J.J. Campbell

I remember when
you had me mow
the grass wearing
golf shoes

you told me it was
to help the grass

all my friends
laughed at me

you told me that
was good for me

it would build
a tough skin

you were right
dad

that tough skin
was able to stand
you deleting me
from your life
completely until
you were on your
death bed

that tough skin
also gave me the
nerve to be the
asshole to just let
you die without
gracing you with
my presence

the plain box
certainly fits
you

enjoy the dirt

campbell bio

Leave a Reply

