Morphine Drip by D.N. Simmers

   “And we will use him for free
as if he meant nothing.”
Gregory Scofield

On morphine drip
laying  closer to death
in  the shadows
I would come to my brother:

Complain of my day.
Brother’s eyes darting in and out
of pain

I talked of how hard
I had to work
as you lay there.

I did not see 10 days of liquids
out of your thin body.

But I was worried
about things. ,
Things I know.

Not what chaos and death
had in store for you.:

I’m sorry I did not
sit and listen
as you breathed in and out.

Happily that that breath was
coming back

face being there
on my visit
into the next morning.

D.N. Simmers is an on line editor with Fine Lines. He is in the  current Poetry Salzburg Review and the Common Ground Review. He is in two new anthologies and is on line in riverbabble, Wilderness House Literary Review and Whispers. He was in Van Gogh's Ear, Paris France.

D.N. Simmers is an on line editor with Fine Lines. He is in the
current Poetry Salzburg Review and the Common Ground Review.
He is in two new anthologies and is on line in riverbabble,
Wilderness House Literary Review and Whispers.
He was in Van Gogh’s Ear, Paris France.

One thought on “Morphine Drip by D.N. Simmers

Leave a Reply

