Stranded Little Infidel by Kevin Ridgeway

I mixed DayQuil & merlot
before I shoved an airline
captain after he announced
the cancellation of a flight
from JFK on the Christmas
following 9-11, when he
and the other passengers
mad dogged me while I
pictured myself in an orange
chained jumpsuit with a
black bag over my head
at Guantanamo, nervous
that my mutton chops were
too suspicious as I got the
big pat down in front of
everybody, apologizing to
the skipper as we hugged
it out at the entrance to
the plane when I wished him
a Merry Christmas and he
gently whispered in my ear
to go fuck myself.
Kevin Ridgeway was born in Bellflower, CA and raised in nearby Whittier, where he currently lives and writes.  Nominated for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net, his work has appeared or is forthcoming in Chiron Review, Nerve Cowboy, Re)verb, San Pedro River Review, Right Hand Pointing, Bank-Heavy, Misfit Magazine and The Mas Tequila Review, among others.  His latest chapbooks of poetry are On the Burning Shore (Arroyo Seco Press) and Riding Off Into That Strange Technicolor Sunset:  Dallas-FT. Worth Poems (The Weekly Weird Monthly).

Kevin Ridgeway was born in Bellflower, CA and raised in nearby Whittier, where he currently lives and writes. Nominated for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net, his work has appeared or is forthcoming in Chiron Review, Nerve Cowboy, Re)verb, San Pedro River Review, Right Hand Pointing, Bank-Heavy, Misfit Magazine and The Mas Tequila Review, among others. His latest chapbooks of poetry are On the Burning Shore (Arroyo Seco Press) and Riding Off Into That Strange Technicolor Sunset: Dallas-FT. Worth Poems (The Weekly Weird Monthly).

Leave a Reply

