A Ten Question Interview With The Artist…Robert Wilson.

Why do you write?

Several reasons. Catharsis is the big one. Writing is one of the best forms of therapy imaginable. It can also push your mind far beyond its limits. Not to mention that it can be fun. That’s a reason I think more writers should embrace. It’s not all caffeine and mental torture. Just mostly.

What books do you read?

I read a lot of dramas. I especially like ones that are written in poetic verse. I also like noir, love stories, sci fi, dark comedies, thrillers, and bizarro fiction. Basically, I’ll read anything but chick lit. Some of my favorites are The Stranger, The History of Love, American Psycho, Choke, and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.

What inspires you?

Life itself, mostly. Music and literature have helped me shape my style but life is what guides the fingertips.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

A video game is what got me into writing, actually. It was called Max Payne and I played it alot as a teen. Something about the way Max expressed his strife in his inner monologue struck a chord with me and I thought “if I could express my grievances like this, maybe life would be more interesting.”

How Do you deal with rejection?

I used to let it eat me alive but now I just shrug my shoulders and move on. Not everyone digs the same type of writing.

Who are some writers you admire?

On the more famous side: Charles Bukowski, Henry Rollins, Ted Hughes, Chuck Palahniuk, Robert Lowell, Bret Easton Ellis, Nicole Krauss, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, F. Scott Fitzgerald.

On the less famous side: James Kelley, Danni Williams, Sakshi Jolly, Don Campbell, Alex Ness, Chuck Steffen, Kushal Poddar, Daniel McTaggart, Theodore Webb

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

I’ve recently taken up photography, though I’m not very good at it.

What would be some advice you would give to your younger self?

Enjoy life now. It only gets harder.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never stop.

What is your writing process?

If I’m at home, I’ll put on some music and let it all out. If I’m out and about I just write when I get the chance.

Robert Wilson is a writer and poet from Morgantown, WV. His writing is known for being dark, confessional, and cathartic. Robert's work has been published in San Gabriel Valley Poetry Quarterly, Amomancies, Deep Water Literary Journal, and others. He loves coffee and pasta.

Robert Wilson is a writer and poet from Morgantown, WV. His writing is known for being dark, confessional, and cathartic. Robert’s work has been published in San Gabriel Valley Poetry Quarterly, Amomancies, Deep Water Literary Journal, and others. He loves coffee and pasta.

Leave a Reply

