Field Report by Kurt Nimmo

started typing
this confessional shit
after twenty years silence
and chasing the god awful dollar.
running like a monkey on a string
after green
sure beat poverty and homelessness.
now I write letters and words
coagulating into sentences,
a retelling of the world the way I see it,
albeit shaded a jaundiced yellow.
nothing to report today except
last week I almost kissed the neighbor lady.
she came to the door
to ask my wife a question.
this was
during one of my semi-
lucid somewhat drunk moments
and I suddenly mistook her for somebody else
and lurched forward to plant a kiss.
she jumped back a foot or two
and gave me this look.
she thought I was off my rocker.
now she walks
on the other side of the street
and pretends I am invisible.
this is normal.
I have been invisible most of my life.
they say visibility returns
when you get old and women and small animals
no longer consider your a threat.
if this is true
I will have to do something
about it.

 Kurt Nimmo edited The Smudge and Planet Detroit in the 1970s and 80s. He has been nominated for several Pushcart Prizes for fiction and two of his books were selected as "modern classics" by the Wormwood Review. Kurt now edits Busted Dharma and lives in Texas. http://www.busteddharma.com


Kurt Nimmo edited The Smudge and Planet Detroit in the 1970s and 80s. He has been nominated for several Pushcart Prizes for fiction and two of his books were selected as “modern classics” by the Wormwood Review. Kurt now edits Busted Dharma and lives in Texas. http://www.busteddharma.com

Leave a Reply

