A Ten Question Interview With The Artist…E.S. Wynn

Why do you write?

Because when you write, you can create a world where everything that happens, happens for a reason. I write to find peace in an otherwise chaotic world.

What books do you read?

Everything. Whatever catches my interest in the moment. Primarily sci-fi, but I enjoy learning about things I previously had no knowledge of.

What inspires you?

Women, coffee, good music and crazy people who have found success.

How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when?

First grade, when I learned how to write. I realized it was easier to paint the pictures in my head with words instead of crayons.

How do you deal with rejection?

I ignore it and keep pushing on.

Who are some writers you admire?

Peter Grandbois, Storm Constantine, Cormac McCarthy and Samuel R. Delany, to name a few.

Is writing the only artistic medium you do?

I also do pyrographic painting. Wood-burned painting on cedar using a soldering iron.

What would be some advice you would give to your younger self?

Never try to get a “real job.” That course only leads to disaster.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write everyday. Read outside of your style and genre. Evolve constantly.

What is your writing process?

I start with an idea, toss it around in my brain until enough stuff sticks to it that I can beat it into a book. Then I begin the long, steady walk down the road that leads to the book’s end.

E.S. Wynn is the author of over sixty books in print. During the last decade, he has worked with hundreds of authors and edited thousands of manuscripts for nearly a dozen different magazines. His stories and articles have been published in dozens of journals, e-zines and anthologies.

E.S. Wynn is the author of over sixty books in print. During the last decade, he has worked with hundreds of authors and edited thousands of manuscripts for nearly a dozen different magazines. His stories and articles have been published in dozens of journals, e-zines and anthologies.

One thought on “A Ten Question Interview With The Artist…E.S. Wynn

Leave a Reply

