Backwards by James Babbs

it’s 1983 all over again
I’m still in high school
and my brother just died
I’m watching Wargames for the first time
falling in love with Ally Sheedy
wishing I knew where I could find
a girl just like her
my parents are still alive
I still have my whole life ahead of me
I’ve never been drunk before
and I’m planning on going to college
I want to be a physics major
with an english minor in writing
and I never think about
what things will be like
thirty years from now
it’s 1983
and I’m still young enough
not to be afraid
still young enough
when I go to bed at night
I don’t lie awake
surrounded by darkness
wishing I would have done
something different with my life

James Babbs continues to live and write from the same small Illinois town where he grew up.  He has published hundreds of poems over the past thirty years and, recently, a few short stories.  James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013).

James Babbs continues to live and write from the same small Illinois town where he grew up. He has published hundreds of poems over the past thirty years and, recently, a few short stories. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013).

Leave a Reply

